Coding in Math, say What?

So, coding. It’s the new rave in teaching students how to critically think to solve and design working projects that can be used on the internet. It’s easy to put in commands and see how it works, hoping that it does what it’s supposed to do.  Did you know there are Math functions that are incorporated in coding? 

I never thought of combining coding with algebra. As a technology teacher, it never crossed my mind how coding was so integrated into coding. Joshua Kwon came up with a brilliant way to merge the two.  Take a look.

*Just a side note, as I was looking for some videos, I came across the teaching channel website. It has a lot of good material on there. Should check it out.*

12 thoughts on “Coding in Math, say What?

  1. Love the Teaching Channel! Your post was so interesting math and coding tied together with an awesome teacher. Do you use coding with your 5th graders? I was at a PD the other day and a rep from Microsoft shared this video from Code.org, “Computer Science is Changing Everything” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJqSu1IbcHg Your post made me think of it, I wonder what your 5th graders would think…

    • Yes, I do. When I was teaching technology a year ago, I was actually introducing coding to the kindergarten and first graders! They absolutely loved it. It was awesome to see the primary students be so engaged in their learning. Even some of the lower students were able to problem solve and be successful. I highly recommend using code.org. It’s a great website and the students love it.!!

  2. I have used the teaching channel for various resources. Your are spot on when saying it is full of good materials.

    I haven’t ever thought of using coding to this degree. It’s amazing to think of all the different ways you can make learning more authentic for the students.

    • When I discovered the video, I was quite amazed on how the teacher was able to incorporate two subject matter into one. When you really think about coding, it is truly algebra based. In my Math curriculum, we have a small unit on Algebra, and I think coding is the awesome sidekick to learning algebra through mini lessons.

  3. This is pretty intense coding. I really like how he was using slope-intercept form in an application; my students always have so much trouble with that idea.

  4. I did the Hour of Code last year with my Algebra students. They worked for two solid days, and you could have heard a pin drop both days. Everyone was engaged and completely focused. It was a fantastic experience, and I am planning on incorporating more of it this year.

    • I bet. When I did the Hour of Code, all of my students were really sad when we had to stop. They loved that they were able to create something but yet at the same time were able to use simply math to problem solve. I am thinking of using it more this year was a way to assess the students in some of the math skills that I teach for 5th grade.

  5. Thank you so much for this resource and idea. The 8th grade math teacher and I have been discussing ways to include coding in math and science as a project/activity next year. What a great video to help us get started!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *